dallas-it-support-company-explains-new-uber-tracking-update

Uber claims to have found a new way to improve their customer’s experience, but people aren’t quite comfortable with their new method. Uber has updated its privacy policy to state that it is able to track your location after you’ve been dropped off and even if you have the app closed. Uber announced that this update will improve their customer service by allowing them to monitor pickups, drop-offs, and enhance safety of passengers.  The company has tried to make it clear on their website, that accepting the update will not lead to Uber tracking your every step.

Uber has provided the option to opt-out of this tracking, however many customers are upset due to the fact that they can only choose to “Always” or “Never” be tracked and would like a “while I have the app open” option. If a user chooses never to be tracked, every time they open the app they must manually input their current location and their ending destination.  The company has tried to make it clear on their website, that accepting the update will not lead to Uber tracking your every step.

Due to the massive outrage at their decision, Uber has released the following statement to the public: “We're always thinking about ways we can improve the rider experience from sharpening our ETA estimates to identifying the best pick up location on any given street. Location is at the heart of the Uber experience, and we're asking riders to provide us with more information to achieve these goals.”

Although Uber has attempted to assure everyone that tracking passengers 5 minutes after they close the app is perfectly safe and minimally intrusive to people’s privacy, customers insist that an option for opting-in to the new program would be favored over be forced to opt-out. Another motive for Uber’s update was to assist drivers in finding customers who may have decided to walk around after requesting a ride and then closed their app. Before the update, if someone left the exact area they had requested a ride in, they just appeared as a stagnant location marker on their driver’s phone, making them harder to locate.

Ultimately, it appears Uber just wants to ensure that its users are being dropped off in the correct spots, however it may cost them some customers who simply don’t like the idea of being virtually tracked.  But if people's outrage taught us anything, it's that people like their privacy, including their technological privacy.  Is your Dallas Fort Worth Network secure?  Are you looking for an IT support company in Dallas that provides full coverage, managed IT services that guarantee your company and data is safe and private?  An MSP in Dallas that can be your complete outsourced IT department is Think Unified.  Check out our Dallas Managed IT Services and IT Support for guaranteed quality and fantastic services.